Thoroughbred Horseracing Ireland, Thoroughbred racehorses Ireland Group 1 Thoroughbred Horse Races Ireland
Thoroughbred Stud Farm Stallion Nominations

Home : Racing : Group 1 Races : Group 1 Races Ireland

Group 1 Thoroughbred Horse Races Ireland

The Curragh is the spiritual home for Grade 1 Thoroughbred Horse Races in Ireland. Indeed, in 1868 this was officialy recognised by an Act of Parliament. The name comes from the Gaelic Cuirreach meaning racecourse. Horse racing has been carried on for centuries at the Curragh although the first time this was recorded was in the early 1700s.

Irish 2,000 Guineas (Curragh)
Tattersalls Gold Cup (Curragh)
Irish 1,000 Guineas (Curragh)
Pretty Polly Stakes (Curragh)
Irish Derby (Curragh)
Irish Oaks (Curragh)
Phoenix Stakes (Curragh)
Moyglare Stud Stakes (Curragh)
Matron Stakes (Leopardstown)
Irish Champion Stakes (Leopardstown)
Irish St. Leger (Curragh)
Vincent O'Brien National Stakes (Curragh)